Rebecca Sanders

Photography | Mixed Media | Photo Art
Germany

About the artist

"Art has the power to transform us. With my works, I want to pass on its magic to others"

Rebecca Sanders considers herself a self-taught artist & writer. Her original background is in marketing and coaching. Therefore, her art also has to do with communication, emotions and psychology. Each of her collections stands for a certain kind of (self)-knowledge and inner state. She works with nudes and erotic images – but not in the usual context, as she points out. Rather, she uses them to present the meaning of liberation, devotion, and passion in a spiritual context

Rebecca Sanders

Her main subject is the human being – “I just love,” she says, “exploring everything that makes us human.” This includes Sanders light, darkness, desires, passions, emotions and so much more. She explores the relationship “to ourselves” and its connection to life and the environment – driven by the goal of permanent growth and expansion in all areas. It shows the multidimensional nature of the human being – the potential, but also the fragility of the human psyche.

Her goal is to inspire people visually, bridging the gap between the mind and the heart, the visible and the invisible, the conscious and the unconscious. This is intended to trigger a mental, emotional and also spiritual transformation process in the viewer of her art. It is an invitation and an offer to the viewer: it can serve as a mirror and impulse for personal growth if she/he chooses to consume it from that perspective.

Since 2021, abstract painting has become increasingly important for Rebecca Sander. She reports this is a soothing counterpoint to her conceptually based photographic work and writing activities.

The artist devotes herself primarily to the exploration of the human psyche. The liberation from limitations of all kinds for the expansion of personal potential plays a major role here. Her works are a plea for our need for love, freedom and radical authenticity. They create a space in which we can say goodbye – temporarily or permanently – to conventions, norms and dogmas of all kinds, in order to be able to surrender to our longings and dreams.

Works | Series

Intimacy

Intimacy No. 1

7501,250

Intimacy No. 9

7501,250

Intimacy No. 12

7501,250

Intimacy No. 5

7501,250

The works in this series represent the state of inner wholeness and complete surrender to ourselves. It’s about a form of emotional intimacy that we draw from ourselves rather than from being with others.

In this state, our thoughts and actions serve the purpose of creating joyful experiences based on our true desires and needs. We feel free from foreign expectations, norms and conventions, and thereby attain deep inner peace. It’s about arriving at the person we may have missed for a long time, or didn’t really know yet.

The visual language of this series was inspired by the great photographic artist and filmmaker Katharine Sieverding.

Self-Empowerment

Self-Confidence No. 2

7501,250

I’m proud of Myself

7501,250

Free your Mind

7501,250

This series is about exploring our positive resources and inner strength. The images represent our need for autonomy, freedom and creative self-expression. They are shaped by the female view of these concepts, which in some cases differs elementarily from the male view. The representation of the (naked) female body is not to be seen and understood in the usual context, but as a component of a woman’s autonomy. The goal is to give both men and women a new understanding of the female physiognomy. It is about a detachment from automated erotic interpretations on the one hand, and overly strict evaluations on the other. This pursues the goal of supporting women in achieving a relaxed and joyful approach to their own bodies.

The vivid colours and expressive shapes represent our inner wealth as well as the power of our passions and desires.

shadow work

I Am Safe No. 1

7501,250

Isolation No.3

7501,250

Introspection No.1

7501,250

Between Light & Darkness

7501,250
References

2020 | Düsseldorf, Germany
Doesn’t work beyond the placebo effect, City Museum.

2020 | Düsseldorf, Germany
Doesn’t work beyond the placebo effect, City Museum.

2020 | Berlin, Germany
allery Weekend Berlin, Kühlhaus Berlin with Gallery Z22

2018 | Berlin, Germany
“Home”, Gallery Z22

Düsseldorf, Germany
Nominated for the DA Award / Independent Art Award of the German Reconnaissance Service

Rebecca Sanders

Fotografie | Mixed Media | Fotokunst
Deutschland

Über den Künstler

„Kunst besitzt die Kraft dazu, uns zu verwandeln. Mit meinen Werken möchte ich ihre Magie an andere weitergeben.“

Rebecca Sanders versteht sich als autodidaktische Künstlerin & Autorin. Ursprünglich kommt Sie aus dem Bereich Marketing und Coaching. Deshalb hat ihre Kunst auch mit Kommunikation, Emotionen und Psychologie zu tun. Jede ihrer Kollektionen steht für eine bestimmte Art der (Selbst)-Erkenntnis und des inneren Zustandes. Sie arbeitet mit Akt- und Erotikbildern – aber nicht im gewöhnlichen Kontext, wie Sie unterstreicht. Vielmehr benutzt Sie diese, um die Bedeutung von Befreiung, Hingabe und Leidenschaft in einem spirituellen Kontext darzustellen

Rebecca Sanders

Ihr Hauptthema ist der Mensch – „ich liebe es einfach“, sagt sie, „alles zu erforschen, was uns menschlich“ macht. Dazu zählt Sanders Licht, Dunkelheit, Wünsche, Leidenschaften, Emotionen und so vieles mehr. Sie erforscht die Beziehung „zu uns selbst“ und deren Zusammenhang mit dem Leben und der Umgebung – angetrieben von dem Ziel des permanenten Wachstums und der Erweiterung in allen Bereichen. Sie zeigt die multidimensionale Natur des Menschen – das Potenzial, aber auch die Zerbrechlichkeit der menschlichen Psyche.

Ihre Zielsetzung ist es Menschen visuell zu inspirieren und damit eine Brücke zwischen dem Verstand und dem Herzen, dem Sichtbaren und dem Unsichtbaren, dem Bewussten und dem Unbewussten zu schlagen. Damit soll ein mentaler, emotionaler und auch spiritueller Transformationsprozess im Betrachter ihrer Kunst ausgelöst werden. Sie ist eine Einladung und ein Angebot an den Betrachter: Sie kann als Spiegel und Impuls für persönliches Wachstum dienen, wenn sie/er sich entscheidet, sie aus dieser Perspektive zu konsumieren.

Seit 2021 gewinnt die abstrakte Malerei für Rebecca Sander immer mehr an Bedeutung. Sie berichtet, dies ist ein wohltuender Gegenpol zu ihrer konzeptionell basierten fotografischen Arbeit und schriftstellerischen Aktivitäten.

Die Künstlerin widmet sich vornehmlich der Erkundung der menschlichen Psyche. Die Befreiung von Begrenzungen aller Art zur Expansion des persönlichen Potenzials spielt hierbei eine große Rolle. Ihre Werke sind ein Plädoyer für unser Bedürfnis nach Liebe, Freiheit und radikaler Authentizität. Sie schaffen einen Raum, in dem wir uns – kurzfristig oder auch dauerhaft – von Konventionen, Normen und Dogmen aller Art verabschieden können, um uns unseren Sehnsüchten und Träumen hingeben zu können.

Werke | Serien

Intimacy

Intimacy No. 1

7501.250

Intimacy No. 9

7501.250

Intimacy No. 12

7501.250

Intimacy No. 5

7501.250

Die Arbeiten dieser Serie repräsentieren den Zustand innerer Ganzheit und vollständiger Hingabe an uns selbst. Es geht um eine Form von emotionaler Intimität, die wir aus uns selbst schöpfen, anstatt aus dem Zusammensein mit anderen.

In diesem Zustand dienen unsere Gedanken und Handlungen dem Ziel, freudvolle Erfahrungen zu erschaffen, die auf unseren wahren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen basieren. Wir fühlen uns frei von fremden Erwartungen, Normen und Konventionen, und erlangen dadurch tiefen inneren Frieden. Es geht um das Ankommen bei dem Menschen, den wir vielleicht schon lange vermisst haben, oder noch nicht richtig kannten.

Die Bildsprache dieser Serie wurde durch die große Fotokünstlerin und Filmemacherin Katharine Sieverding inspiriert.

Self-Empowerment

Self-Confidence No. 2

7501.250

I´m proud of Myself

7501.250

Free your Mind

7501.250

In dieser Serie geht es um die Erkundung unserer positiven Ressourcen und inneren Stärke. Die Bilder repräsentieren unser Bedürfnis nach Autonomie, Freiheit und kreativem Selbstausdruck. Sie sind geprägt von der weiblichen Sichtweise auf diese Begriffe, die sich teilweise elementar von der männlichen Betrachtungsweise unterscheidet. Die Darstellung des (nackten) weiblichen Körpers ist nicht im gewohnten Kontext zu sehen und zu verstehen, sondern als Bestandteil der Autonomie einer Frau. Das Ziel ist, sowohl Männern als auch Frauen ein neues Verständnis der weiblichen Physiognomie zu vermitteln. Es geht um eine Loslösung von automatisierten erotischen Interpretationen auf der einen, und überzogen strengen Bewertungen auf der anderen Seite. Dies verfolgt das Ziel Frauen dabei zu unterstützen, einen lockeren und freudvollen Umgang mit dem eigenen Körper zu erlangen.

Die lebendigen Farben und ausdrucksvollen Formen repräsentieren unseren inneren Reichtum sowie die Kraft unserer Leidenschaften und Wünsche.

Shadow Work

I Am Safe No. 1

7501.250

Isolation No.3

7501.250

Introspection No.1

7501.250

Between Light & Darkness

7501.250
Referenzen

2020 | Düsseldorf, Germany
Wirkt nicht über den Placebo-Effekt hinaus, Stadtmuseum

2020 | Düsseldorf, Germany
Wirkt nicht über den Placebo-Effekt hinaus, Stadtmuseum

2020 | Berlin, Germany
allery Weekend Berlin, Kühlhaus Berlin mit der Galerie Z22

2018 | Berlin, Germany
„Heimat“, Galerie Z22

Düsseldorf, Germany
Nominiert für den DA Award / Unabhängiger Kunstpreis des deutschen Aufklärungsdienstes