Georgia Ortner

Photography | Woven Photography
Germany

About the artist

"Art exists in three levels in space: as decoration, as a window, and as a challenge"

The artist has been occupied with the subject of photography since her student days. She now looks back on over 12 years of photography travels through four continents. Together with the artist Michael Krueger, she independently initiated the exhibition series “StereoArt” in Bonn in 2012, since then her works have been shown in international exhibitions (including Düsseldorf, Cologne, Los Angeles). Together with the photographer & art director Rüdiger Schrader, she presents her photo-illustrated book “Augenblicke” in 2018, which was produced bilingually in Germany as well as for the American region. Her exclusively limited editions are enjoying ever-increasing popularity and high demand, also among international art collectors. The artist always produces her successful works on different innovative materials. Her latest series “Abstraktur” shows photographs that are the result of weeks of handwork using a complex weaving technique. The name of the series is composed of “abstract” and “structure”. With this series, which consists only of unique pieces, photography is transported into a third dimension for the first time.

It all started with a backpacking trip through Romania almost exactly 10 years ago, when photographer Georgia Ortner discovered travel photography for herself. Beginning as a small collection of privately used photographs known to perhaps a handful of family members and her closest friends, photography took on an increasingly important role in her life. In the meantime, photography has not only become an integral part of her own life, but is also arousing increasing public interest. In the context of several exhibitions and the current art format of ProIdee, the photographer now sells numerous pictures of the always limited editions on different materials – especially – wood.

Through the lively symbiosis of photography and wood, each picture becomes unique. Each tells its own story and in most cases was created without much prior staging. It is precisely this spontaneity that runs like a thread through her work. It is above all the dusty backyards and human fates that Georgia Ortner puts in the – for her – right light. The striking contrast between the supposed glamour of the world’s trendy metropolises, such as New York, Paris, Cape Town, on the one hand, and the bare honest street crossroads of a small village made up of ramshackle houses near Havana, Cuba, on the other, continues to fascinate the Romanian-born artist and reflects her approach. So it can happen that a large pelican lolls in the sun directly in front of the photographer’s camera in front of the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco.

Works | Series

The series “Abstraktur” shows photographic works which are the result of weeks of manual work by means of a complex weaving technique. The name of the series is a neologism and is composed of “abstract” and “structure”. With this series, which consists only of unique pieces, photography is transported into a third dimension for the first time.

The last collection

Decay of the Arts

1,8004,800

5 to 12

1,800

The last concert

1,8002,500
References

2021 | Düsseldorf, Germany
7th Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2019 | Düsseldorf, Germany
6th Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2018 | Düsseldorf, Germany
5th Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2018 | Cologne, Germany
Passages

2017 | Düsseldorf, Germany
4th Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2017 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol IV – summer edition

017 | Los Angeles, CAL, USA
Charity Art Show “A Spoon full of Art”

2016 | Düsseldorf, Germany
3rd Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2016 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol III

2014 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol II

2012 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol I

2012 | Bonn, Germany
Cuba, Heitmannfilms-Bonn School

n.a.

Georgia Ortner

Fotografie | Woven Fotografie
Deutschland

Über den Künstler

"Kunst existiert in drei Ebenen im Raum: als Dekoration, als Fenster und als Herausforderung"

Mit dem Thema Fotografie beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin seit Studentenzeiten. Sie blickt mittlerweile auf über 12 Jahre Fotografie-Reisen durch vier Kontinente zurück. Mit dem Künstler Michael Krueger initiiert sie 2012 eigenständig die Ausstellungsreihe „StereoArt“ in Bonn, seitdem werden ihre Werke in internationalen Ausstellungen (u.a. Düsseldorf, Köln, Los Angeles) gezeigt. Gemeinsam mit dem Fotografen & Art Director Rüdiger Schrader präsentiert sie 2018 ihren Foto-Bildband „Augenblicke“, der sowohl in Deutschland als auch für den amerikanischen Raum zweisprachig produziert wurde. Ihre ausschließlich limitierten Editionen erfreuen sich anhaltend wachsender Beliebtheit und einer hohen Nachfrage auch bei internationalen Kunstsammlern. Die Künstlerin produziert ihre erfolgreichen Werke stets auf unterschiedlichen innovativen Materialien. Ihre neueste Serie „Abstraktur“ zeigt Fotografie, die mittels einer komplexen Webtechnik das Resultat wochenlanger Handarbeit sind. Der Name der Serie setzt sich zusammen aus „abstrakt“ und „Struktur“. Mit dieser Serie, die nur aus Unikaten besteht, wird die Fotografie erstmals in eine dritte Dimension transportiert.

Es begann mit einer Rucksackreise durch Rumänien vor ziemlich genau 10 Jahren, als die Fotografin Georgia Ortner die Reisefotografie für sich entdeckte. Zunächst als kleine Sammlung privat genutzter Fotografien, die vielleicht eine handvoll Familienmitglieder und ihre besten Freunde kannten, nahm die Fotografie in ihrem Leben eine immer wichtiger werdende Rolle ein. Mittlerweile ist die Fotografie nicht nur fester Bestandteil ihres eigenen Lebens geworden, sondern erweckt auch zunehmend öffentliches Interesse. Im Rahmen von mehreren Ausstellungen und des  aktuellen Kunstformats von ProIdee verkauft die Fotografin nunmehr zahlreiche Bilder der stets limitierten Editionen auf unterschiedlichen Materialien – vor allem – Holz.

Durch die lebendige Symbiose aus Fotografie und Holz wird jedes Bild zu einem Unikat. Jedes erzählt seine eigene Geschichte und ist in den meisten Fällen ohne große vorherige Inszenierung entstanden. Gerade diese Spontanität zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch ihre Arbeiten. Dabei sind es vor allem die verstaubten Hinterhöfe und menschliche Schicksale, die Georgia Ortner ins – für sie – richtige Licht rückt. Der markante Kontrast zwischen dem vermeintlichen Glamour in den angesagten Metropolen dieser Welt, wie z.B. New York, Paris, Kapstadt, auf der einen Seite und der nackten ehrlichen Straßenkreuzung eines kleinen sich aus maroden Häusern zusammensetzenden Dorfes in der Nähe von Havanna, Kuba, auf der anderen Seite, fasziniert die gebürtige Rumänin nach wie vor und spiegelt ihr Vorgehen wider. So kann es schon einmal vorkommen, dass ein großer Pelikan sich direkt vor der Kamera der Fotografin vor der Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco in der Sonne räkelt.

Werke | Serien

Die Serie „Abstraktur“ zeigt fotografische Werke die mittels einer komplexen Webtechnik das Resultat wochenlanger Handarbeit sind. Der Name der Serie ist ein Neologismus und setzt sich zusammen aus „abstrakt“ und „Struktur“. Mit dieser Serie, die nur aus Unikaten besteht, wird die Fotografie erstmals in eine dritte Dimension transportiert.

The last collection

Decay of the Arts

1.8004.800

5 vor 12

1.800

The last concert

1.8002.500
Referenzen

2021 | Düsseldorf, Germany
7. Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk 

2019 | Düsseldorf, Germany
6. Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2018 | Düsseldorf, Germany
5. Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2018 | Köln, Germany
Passagen

2017 | Düsseldorf, Germany
4. Photo Popup Fair, Stilwerk

2017 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol IV – summer edition

2017 | Los Angeles, CAL, USA
Charity Art Show „A Spoon full of Art“

2016 | Düsseldorf, Germany
3. Photo Popup Fair

2016 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol III

2014 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol II

2012 | Bonn, Germany
StereoArt vol I

2012 | Bonn, Germany
Cuba, Heitmannfilms-Bonner Schule

n.a.