Cecilia Coppola

Sculptures | Ceramic Art
Italy

About the artist

"As in fairy tale or myth, I look for the extraordinary"

Her porcelains are almost always utilitarian objects reinterpreted through a fantastical lens. Like in a fairy tale, these everyday objects come to life, each element transforming into something unexpected. She needs the symbol or archetype to tell a story, and telling a story is always her real goal.

Cecilia Coppola

She creates sculptures in the shape of teapots, inspired by the most famous fairy tales, Alice in Wonderland and more … Animals, flowers, dream subjects, flying dragons and rocking ponies come to life in these hand sculpted porcelain pieces.

The artistic project is inspired by the world of fairy tales and children’s literature. Planty and zoomorphic elements in soft pastel colours create dreamy atmospheres. The use of gold makes each creation precious and magical. The collectible teapots are sculptures where the meticulousness of the modelling, together with gold, highlights the translucent white of the porcelain.

Coppola was born in Rimini in 1973. After learning the art of ceramics from the master Giò Urbinati, she opened her own workshop (Gaiofana Atelier, via Bertola 37 Rimini), where she produces ceramic sculptures, utilitarian ceramics and other unique pieces for dressing up and special furnishings. She participates in personal and collective exhibitions.

Works | Series

My porcelains are almost always utilitarian objects reinterpreted through a fantastic lens. Like in a fairy tale, these everyday objects come to life, each element transforming into something unexpected. I need the symbol or archetype to tell a story, and telling a story is always my real goal.

References

2019 | Appignano, Italy
International Award for ceramic art “Fairyland Lands

2019 | Paris, France
Participation in Maison & Objet – Section Craft

2018 | Paris, France
Participation in Maison & Objet

2018 | Rimini, Italy
EXHIBITION NAME, LOCATION

2015-18 | Rimini, Italy
Collective Exhibition of Ceramics, Malatesta Castle

2010 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Manifesta” Palazzo dell’Arengo

2009 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Manifesta” Palazzo dell’Arengo

2009 | Rimini, Italy
Personal exhibition “Fairytale Teapots” Spazio Bianco Gallery

2009 | Wales, GB
“A fairy tea” staff at the Art Gallery, Abergavenny

2009 | Ravenna, Russia
Collective “Never Seen Books!”

2008 | Rimini, Italy
Personal “A tea in the library” Bookstore Fourth Floor

2008 | Cesena, Italy
Personal “Fantastic Shipwrecks” at Le Mura Gallery

2008 | Wales, GB
Fairy Teapots” Art Gallery Staff Abergavenny

2007 | Riccione, Italy
Personnel “Tend a chain to heaven” Castle of the Agolanti

2007 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Divine Paths” Ancient Wine Shop Spazi

2007 | Russi of Ravenna
Collective “Books never seen before”, First prize of the homonymous competition.

Cecilia Coppola

Skulpturen | Keramikkunst
Italien

Über den Künstler

„Wie im Märchen oder Mythos suche ich nach dem Außergewöhnlichen"

Ihre Porzellane sind fast immer Gebrauchsgegenstände, die durch eine fantastische Linse neu interpretiert werden. Wie im Märchen erwachen diese Alltagsgegenstände zum Leben, jedes Element verwandelt sich in etwas Unerwartetes. Sie brauchet das Symbol oder den Archetyp, um eine Geschichte zu erzählen, und eine Geschichte zu erzählen, ist immer ihr eigentliches Ziel.

Cecilia Coppola

Sie schafft Skulpturen in Form von Teekannen, inspiriert von den berühmtesten Märchen, Alice im Wunderland und mehr … Tiere, Blumen, Traumsujets, fliegende Drachen und schaukelnde Ponys werden in diesen handgeformten Porzellanarbeiten lebendig.

Das künstlerische Projekt ist inspiriert von der Welt der Märchen und der Kinderliteratur. Pflanzliche und zoomorphe Elemente in sanften Pastellfarben schaffen verträumte Atmosphären. Die Verwendung von Gold macht jede Kreation kostbar und magisch. Die sammelbaren Teekannen sind Skulpturen, bei denen die Akribie der Modellierung zusammen mit Gold das durchscheinende Weiß des Porzellans hervorhebt.

Coppola wurde 1973 in Rimini geboren. Nachdem sie die Kunst der Keramik bei dem Meister Giò Urbinati erlernt hatte, eröffnete sie ihre eigene Werkstatt (Gaiofana Atelier, via Bertola 37 Rimini), in der sie Keramikskulpturen, Gebrauchskeramik und andere Unikate für Verkleidungen und besondere Einrichtungsgegenstände herstellt. Sie nimmt an persönlichen und kollektiven Ausstellungen teil.

Werke | Serien

Meine Porzellane sind fast immer Gebrauchsgegenstände, die durch eine fantastische Linse neu interpretiert werden. Wie im Märchen erwachen diese Alltagsgegenstände zum Leben, jedes Element verwandelt sich in etwas Unerwartetes. Ich brauche das Symbol oder den Archetyp, um eine Geschichte zu erzählen, und eine Geschichte zu erzählen, ist immer mein eigentliches Ziel.

Referenzen

2019 | Appignano, Italy
International Award for ceramic art “Fairyland Lands”

2019 | Paris, France
Participation in Maison & Objet – Section Craft

2018 | Paris, France
Participation in Maison & Objet

2018 | Rimini, Italy
AUSSTELLUNGSNAME, LOCATION

2015-18 | Rimini, Italy
Collective Exhibition of Ceramics, Malatesta Castle

2010 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Manifesta” Palazzo dell’Arengo

2009 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Manifesta” Palazzo dell’Arengo

2009 | Rimini, Italy
Personal exhibition “Fairytale Teapots” Spazio Bianco Gallery

2009 | Wales, GB
“A fairy tea” staff at the Art Gallery, Abergavenny

2009 | Ravenna, Russia
Collective “Never seen books!”

2008 | Rimini, Italy
Personal “A tea in the library” Bookstore Fourth Floor

2008 | Cesena, Italy
Personal “Fantastic Shipwrecks” at Le Mura Gallery

2008 | Wales, GB
Fairy Teapots” Art Gallery Staff Abergavenny

2007 | Riccione, Italy
Personnel “Tend a chain to heaven” Castle of the Agolanti

2007 | Rimini, Italy
Collective “Divine Paths” Ancient Wine Shop Spazi

2007 | Russi of Ravenna
Collective “Books never seen before”, First prize of the homonymous competition.